West Midlands NO!

Regional government: unelected, undemocratic, unaccountable and unwanted

Councillor says people can’t be trusted to vote for mayor

Posted by wonkotsane on November 9, 2006

Sandwell Labour councillor, Bob Piper, explains why cities and regions shouldn’t have elected mayors:

My concern is much more that in some areas we will end up with media favourites or ‘celebrity’ candidates being elected, and we end up transferring all executive functions to a bloke in a monkey suit or a radio dj.

But that’s democracy Bob.  The people elect who they want to represent them, whether it’s a bloke in a money suit or another bloke in a monkey suit John Prescott.  Whether you or anyone else in local, regional or national government thinks the candidate is acceptable is irrelevant.

4 Responses to “Councillor says people can’t be trusted to vote for mayor”

  1. Toque said

    My concern is that we don’t have a guy in a monkey suit or a radio dj and we instead get some sycophantic ‘party man’ nominated and backed by Labour, Lib Dems or Conservative.

  2. Bob Piper said

    I partially agree with Toque (leaves room, washes hands, returns) I wouldn’t want “some sycophantic ‘party man’ nominated and backed by Labour, Lib Dems or Conservative” either. Unlike Toque though, I still wouldn’t want a geezer in a monkey suit or a radio dj. The point of my post, however, was that I would not want to concentrate all executive power in any single person… political hack or monkey-suited buffoon, but I suppose I was expecting too much to hope that wonko would read the post before adding his comment.

  3. wonkotsane said

    I did read the post Bob and I’ve commented on that point.

    Would you rather have the power in the hands of one elected mayor (monkey suited or otherwise) or the unelected, unaccountable board or a regional quango such as the city region, WMRA or AWM?

  4. Bob Piper said

    … and I have replied. I don’t want either.

Leave a Reply

 
